• Home
  • JAVA News
  • NSSC Tuesday Club Presentation (Online): "How Japanese American Soldiers helped liberate Jews at the Dachau Death Camp near the end of the Second World War."

java

JAVA Blog 

NSSC Tuesday Club Presentation (Online): "How Japanese American Soldiers helped liberate Jews at the Dachau Death Camp near the end of the Second World War."

01 Mar 2021 2:14 PM | Anonymous member (Administrator)


The 522nd Field Artillery Battalion of the 442nd RCT liberated a Jewish extermination sub-camp at Dachau, Germany, towards the end of WW II. In this photo by George Oiye of the 522nd, the inmates are seen milling around.  Following the 442nd assignment to the Vosges forests, the 522nd was detached from the 442nd and assigned to LTG Alexander Patch’s 7th Army for the invasion of Germany while the main unit of the 442nd was assigned to the Maritime Alps, on the French side of the border between France and Italy.

Please join the North Shore Senior Center (NSSC)

161 Northfield Road, Northfield, IL 60093

for a ZOOM Presentation 

"How Japanese American Soldiers helped liberate Jews at the Dachau Death Camp near the end of World War II."

Tuesday, March 16, 2021

10:30 am to 11:30 am CDT 

11:30 am to 12:30 pm EDT / 8:30 am to 9:30 am PDT

Free to anyone who would like to watch on their home computer

To register: Call North Shore Senior Center at 847-784-6030 to give their name, home address, telephone number, and email address.  Then early on the morning of March 16, a link to the presentation will be emailed. Registrants click the link at about 10:28 am, on Tuesday March 16, 2021, and wait for the host to admit.

NSSC Website: https://www.nssc.org/home .  

NSSC Event Calendar Listing: https://nssc.augusoft.net/index.cfm?method=ClassInfo.ClassInformation&int_class_id=9229&int_category_id=4&int_sub_category_id=37


Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software