JAVA Blog 

APAICS 117th Congress 2021 Swearing-In Ceremony

01 Mar 2021 2:09 PM | Anonymous member (Administrator)

Screenshot from APAICS Swearing-In Ceremony, 2021.

Washington, DC. The Asia Pacific American Institute for Congressional Studies’ (APAICS) press statement said APAICS “hosted the Congressional Swearing-In Ceremony on January 29, 2021, for Asian American, Native Hawaiian, and Pacific Islander (AANHPI) members and Congressional Asian Pacific American Caucus (CAPAC) members of the 117th Congress. The ceremony serves as a recognition of the increasing diversity of federal leadership, in particular the historic high of the 21 AAPI members serving in Congress.”   

“The event included statements from Vice President Kamala Harris, Speaker Nancy Pelosi, Senate Majority Leader Chuck Schumer, House Majority Leader Steny Hoyer, House Majority Whip Jim Clyburn, and Judy Chu, Chair of CAPAC which was founded in 1994 by Congressman Norman Mineta. The ceremonial oath of office was administered by Judge Lucy H. Koh, U.S. District Court Judge from the Northern District of California.

“Because of this historic progress young Asian American Pacific Islanders (AAPI), girls and boys across the nation will grow up and see themselves represented at the highest levels of our federal government and know the sky is truly the limit.”

The year 2021 and the 117th Congress represent many “firsts” for AAPIs in the US Congress, including: 

  • The election of Kamala Harris, an Indian American, to serve as The Vice President of the United States;
  • More AAPI, Black, Latino, Native American, and women were elected to the U.S. Congress than ever before;
  • The election of 15 AAPIs plus two delegates to Congress (18 if Representative Bobby Scott, part Filipino is included) to the U.S. Congress;  
  • The appointments of Mark Takano as Chairman of the House Veterans Affairs Committee and Ted Lieu as co-chair of the Democratic Policy and Communications Committee;
  • The election of four Korean Americans to the U.S. Congress; 

The AAPIs in the 117th Congress are U.S. Senators Mazie Hirono and Tammy Duckworth.

Sixteen AAPIs elected to the U.S. House of Representatives are Bobby Scott; Doris Matsui; Judy Chu; (Mr.) Ami Bera; Grace Meng; Mark Takano; Ted Lieu; (Ms.) Pramila Jayapal; Ro Khanna; Raja Krishnamoorthi; Stephanie Murphy; Andy Kim; Kai Kahele; (Ms.) Young Kim; Michelle Steel; and Marilyn Strickland.

The mission of APAICS, which sponsored this program, is “to promote Asia Pacific American participation and representation in all levels of the political process from community service to elected office at the local, state and federal levels.” APAIC, the executive element of CAPAC, is headed by President and CEO Madalene Xuan-Trang Mielke, who succeeded Floyd Mori in 2018.  

For the video of the swearing-in ceremony, click here.

APAICS Conference, Screenshot from APAICS Swearing-In Ceremony, 2021.

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software